53.8 F
New York

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City is one of 12 Reserve Banks that together with the Board of Governors in Washington DC and the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) comprise the Federal Reserve System. It is also referred to as the Kansas City Fed.

The Kansas City Fed serves the Tenth Federal Reserve District. The tenth district covers Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, along with portions of western Missouri and northern New Mexico. It has branches in Denver, Colorado, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Omaha, Nebraska.

US dollars issued by the bank are identified by “J” on the face of one and two dollar bills and “J10” on the face of other denominations.

The Kansas City Fed fosters the stability, integrity and efficiency of the nation’s monetary, financial and payments systems to promote a stable and healthy economy. They do this through three areas: policy and public engagement, financial institution supervision, and payments expertise, partnership and leadership.

View all terms


Bitcoin is a cryptocurrency invented in 2008 by an unknown person or group of people operating under the name Satoshi Nakamoto. Bitcoin uses peer-to-peer...

Central Bank

A central bank is an institution that manages the currency and monetary policy of a state or formal monetary union, and oversees their commercial...

Fractional Reserve Banking

Fractional reserve banking is the most common form of banking practiced by commercial banks worldwide. It involves banks accepting deposits from customers and making...

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

The Reserve Bank of New Zealand is New Zealand's central bank. It was established in 1934, and although not a government department, has been...


What Is a Pip? Pip is an acronym for "percentage in point". A pip is the smallest price move that an exchange rate can make...